Former star of The Bachelorette and recent Dancing with the Stars winner, Hannah Brown took some time to reflect about her sudden rise to fame as a reality TV star in 2019. She revealed that her honesty with her audience was entirely refusing to be a fake version of herself. Hannah’s authenticity really helped her connect with her fans and makes her audience feel like they’re friends of hers.

She began 2019 as a contestant on Colton Underwood’s season of The Bachelor, placing 7th. Then, in the summer she was cast as the star of season 15’s The Bachelorette and the southern belle was instantly a hit with the audiences due to her ability to connect with the audience with her honesty. Fans rooted for her as she sifted through the eligible bachelors in search of the love of her life. Viewers watched as the hopeful young woman had to confront serious issues like slut-shaming, religion, and lying. It was especially heartbreaking to watch as Hannah gave hear heart to contestant Jed Wyatt when she got engaged to him, just to find out that he had lied to her the whole time. It was revealed that he had been in a relationship when he left to film the show. This realization made Hannah rethink her decision and she called off the engagement to Jed. Fans watched her struggle romantically after with dating runner-up Tyler Cameron and watched as she got heartbroken again when he started dating supermodel Gigi Hadid. Then she jumped both feet into the Dancing with the Stars season 28 and though the journey was also a roller coaster of emotion, she ended up on top with the coveted Mirror Ball trophy (and a People’s Choice Award) in her hands.

Needless to say, this has been one life-changing year for the 25-year-old Alabama native. She recently reflected on 2019 with People’s sneak peek at ABC’s 9th annual year-end special The Year: 2019 that will air this Sunday. In the clip, she opens up about how this year has changed her and all that’s she’s learned along the way. She spoke about how she’s perceived as a reality TV star, saying as a reality TV star, “You can make a packaged version of yourself if you want to - I just don’t work that way.” She revealed, “I can’t do it. I can’t pretend that I’m happy or pretend to get emotional when I’m not.” Hannah said, “When I started this whole journey that this year has been, I realized very quickly it’s either all or nothing with me - I chose all.” She admitted, “Sometimes I’m like, ‘Gosh dang it, why are you like that?!’ But then I have moments where people come up to me and they’re like, ‘Oh my God, I feel like I know you, you’re my friend!’”

The 2019 Bachelorette star said, “A lot of people, truly, if they’ve watched me and have been on this ride with me this year - you do know me. I haven’t tried to hold anything back.” Hannah acknowledged that her raw and very public authenticity has proven to be “difficult at times.” She explained, “Sometimes, yeah, I wish I would have protected my heart a little more, absolutely.” However, she revealed that the “human connection” she’s gained from the experience made it all worth it, she said she’s “really proud of that.”

Hannah went from pageant queen to one of the most beloved reality TV stars of 2019 (if not ever) and catapulted her into stardom. This year she was on The Bachelor, the lead of The Bachelorette, and winner of Dancing with the Stars all while stealing America’s heart. It’s amazing how Hannah’s authenticity and raw honesty has touched fans so deeply. It seems that 2019 was unoficailly the year of Hannah Brown and we’re here for it.

Next: The Bachelor: What to Expect in Season 24

Source: People